Our Team

Leslie Ronaldson
– Executive Director


Stacey Lozinski
– Orange Shirt Program Manager


Amber Hester
– Alberta School Audit Manager


Carly Villeneuve
– Connections Program Manager


Layne Cardinal
– Connections Program Facilitator (Tsuut’ina)


Kat McDermott
– Connections Program Supervisor (Wabasca)


Tiffany McLeod
– Connections Program Facilitator (Wabasca)


Board of Directors

Barry Davidson
– Board President

Barry Davidson has served as a Director and Vice President with Safe and Caring for more than seven years and now has stepped into the role as Board President. He brings his passion for community, education and youth to the organization along with more than 3 decades of experience in the not for profit realm. He is currently the Senior Advisor/Strategist for the Canadian Crime Prevention Centre and a communications strategist for several firms and organizations.

Robert Mazzotta
– Vice President

Robert Mazzotta is the coordinator of the Member Services program area with The Alberta Teachers’ Association. Robert has been with the ATA for 10 years and has worked in education for over 25 years. He has been on the board since 2015.

Nichol Turner

Nichol owns an event planning company based out of Calgary, Alberta. She has an extensive background in event and marketing coordination for community and fundraising events. Her input is fundamental to our organization in advising our large scale events and marketing.  

Patricia Irvine

Melissa Purcell
– ATA Appointed

Melissa Purcell is Dene from Smith’s Landing First Nation, Fort Smith, NT, and is an Executive Staff Officer, Professional Development, Indigenous Education with the Alberta Teachers’ Association.  Throughout her teaching and leadership experience she has continued to seek opportunities to support, guide and collaborate with others to increase Indigenous education for all.  She is passionate and committed to building capacity in Indigenous education, culture and language and is always excited to share her learnings with others.

Sharon Vogrinetz
Jeff Johnson
Brian Andrais

Shelley Magnuson

John Blevins
Neil O’Shea
Rita Spain 
John Zabos